Back to Top
The nuts and bolts for
Creative web development
Back to product page

Advanced Conditional Region 2.0(free extension) Support

Overview » Problems » Using Advanced Condition Region 2.0 breaks DW Log in User behavior
Reply
In progress

Using Advanced Condition Region 2.0 breaks DW Log in User behavior

Ryan McFall
Newbie



Since: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Reported 05 Jul 2010 21:23:53

I have the following simple PHP page (this is not my actual use case, but a simplified example to demonstrate a problem):

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>
<?php if (1 == 1) { // Adv Conditional Region ?>
  <p>Log in </p>
  <?php } // 1 == 1 ?>
<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="">
  <p>
    <label for="username">Email Address</label>
    <input type="text" name="username" id="username" />
    <br />
    <br />
    <label for="password">Password</label>
    <input type="text" name="password" id="password" />
  </p>
</form>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
</body>
</html>


If I then try to add the "Log in User" server behavior to the page, I get the following error message:


QuoteWhile executing applyServerBehavior in Login User.htm, a JavaScript error occurred


Removing the conditional region from the page and then adding the "Log in User" behavior works correctly.

Order is important here. If I add the log in user behavior to the page first, and then add the advanced conditional, things work fine (but double-clicking on the log in user behavior in the server behaviors panel and then attempting to save changes then results in an error). Interestingly, the name of the page with the error changes from "Login User.html" to "Login User2.html", although this could be a result of editing an existing behavior rather than inserting a new one.

Any ideas?

I have the following simple PHP page (this is not my actual use case, but a simplified example to demonstrate a problem):

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>
<?php if (1 == 1) { // Adv Conditional Region ?>
  <p>Log in </p>
  <?php } // 1 == 1 ?>
<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="">
  <p>
    <label for="username">Email Address</label>
    <input type="text" name="username" id="username" />
    <br />
    <br />
    <label for="password">Password</label>
    <input type="text" name="password" id="password" />
  </p>
</form>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
</body>
</html>


If I then try to add the "Log in User" server behavior to the page, I get the following error message:


QuoteWhile executing applyServerBehavior in Login User.htm, a JavaScript error occurred


Removing the conditional region from the page and then adding the "Log in User" behavior works correctly.

Order is important here. If I add the log in user behavior to the page first, and then add the advanced conditional, things work fine (but double-clicking on the log in user behavior in the server behaviors panel and then attempting to save changes then results in an error). Interestingly, the name of the page with the error changes from "Login User.html" to "Login User2.html", although this could be a result of editing an existing behavior rather than inserting a new one.

Any ideas?

1 PERSON HAS THIS PROBLEM I have this problem, too!

Miroslav Zografski
Official Representative



Since: 04 Apr 2008
Posts: 3,533
Replied 06 Jul 2010 10:42:03
0
Hello Ryan,

The code that is inserted from our extension is nothing but simple php code that you can try inserting manual and check it that is the problem.

That may depend on the variable you are entering in the adv. cond reg. so test that as well.

Regards,
Ryan McFall
Newbie



Since: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Replied 06 Jul 2010 14:55:25
0
Thanks for the reply. I have tried creating a page with a login form plus the following segments of PHP code, and then inserting the Log In User server behavior. The first 3 segments of PHP code work, while the last two do not

Working example 1:
<?php if (1 == 1) { ?>
<p>1 is 1</p>
<p>
  <?php } ?>
</p>


Working example 2
<?php if (isset($_SESSION['MM_Username'])) { ?>
  <p>User name is set</p>
<?php } ?>


Working example 3
<?php if (1==1) { // my comment ?>
  <p>User name is set</p>
<?php } // my comment ?>


Non-working example 1
<?php if (isset($_SESSION['MM_Username'])) { // Adv Conditional Region ?>
  <p>User name is set</p>
<?php } // isset($_SESSION['MM_Username']) ?>


Non-working example 2
<?php if (1==1) { // Adv Conditional Region ?>
  <p>User name is set</p>
<?php } // 1==1 ?>


Note that both a simple and somewhat complex expression in the if statement work correctly, as long as the string Adv Conditional Region does not appear in the comment after the conditional.

If I launch the extension manager and disable the Advanced Conditional Region extension, insert the code in non-working example 1, and then add the Log In User behavior, it works. Closing DW, re-enabling the extension, and trying it again leads to failure.

So based on this evidence, it seems to me that there must be some interaction with the Adv Conditional behavior that is causing problems.

Any other ideas? Thanks for your help!

Miroslav Zografski
Official Representative



Since: 04 Apr 2008
Posts: 3,533
Replied 07 Jul 2010 11:28:32
0
Hello Ryan,

Thanks for those details. We will test on our side for interactions "under the hood" that could cause this behavior.

Regards,
Ryan McFall
Newbie



Since: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Replied 07 Jul 2010 21:49:15
0
QuoteHello Ryan,

Thanks for those details. We will test on our side for interactions "under the hood" that could cause this behavior.

Regards,


I never mentioned this in my previous posts, so it's probably important to know that I'm running Dreamweaver CS 4 (version 10.0 build 4117). I'm running Windows 7 on the machine I'm doing the development on.

Today I tried a fresh install of Dreamweaver on a virtual machine (XP Pro), and had only the Advanced Conditional extension installed. The problem still exists, so it seems that it should be fairly easy to replicate.

Note also that it's not just the Log In User behavior that has problems - I've had problems with just about every other server behavior when the page I'm trying to insert them into uses the Advanced Conditional extension.
Ryan McFall
Newbie



Since: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Replied 28 Jul 2010 17:50:29
0
Any updates on this?

Reply to this topic

Message
Reply